Good Things

The best word to sum up March is “meh.” I didn’t post much here in March, because every time I sat down to write that’s pretty much the only word that came to mind.  I have never been a fan of March. Even when you don’t live in a gray climate, March still feels like an endless stretch of monotonous gray.

Even yesterday, with only 24 hours of March to get through I couldn’t quite shake the March blues. And so I forced myself to focus on good things.

Like finally get a clothesline hung after four years of good intentions. At last, we can take advantage of all this California sunshine.
clothesline

Also in our front garden, I expect great things from our little tomato and basil plants this spring and summer. We bought them from a neighbor who holds a tomato sale in her yard every year of heirloom tomato plants she’s grown from seed. It was so lovely and inspiring and so much better than buying from the dreaded Home Depot.

tomato_plant

Another good thing: discovering a new art/science project with Miss O. Some moms on Pinterest swore their kids were occupied for hours  with baking soda/vinegar art (who are these kids?).  I assume that while their children entertained themselves all afternoon the women ate bon bons and planned more glorious home art projects. O was occupied by this project just long enough for me to go pee and answer one email, but in our house that’s a victory. Plus, it’s easy to set up and she really loved it.

bakingsoda_art

Baking soda and colored vinegar art project for kids (best for those over 3 yrs). Spread out baking soda in a pan. Fill a few bowls with white vinegar colored with food coloring. Give them an eye dropper and watch the baking soda fizz and colors swirl.

More good things:

….a Sunday pancake breakfast with friends. Why are diner pancakes always better than homemade?
….our yearly trip to New York coming up soon
….Mad Men is starting again
…..O and I singing along with the Beattles to I am a Walrus on our way to preschool
…stumbling upon things like this in my house. I’m not sure what exactly is going on here, but at least now I know where my favorite orange scarf is.
IMG_5734

…and also, flipping through my recipe box instead of trolling the internet for recipes
IMG_5730

….and finding old recipes that I haven’t made in forever. Like this black bean and mango salad. If you’re still fighting some winter blues, this is just the salad to snap you out of it.

Black bean & mango salad

Black bean & mango salad

Black Bean and Mango Salad
Serve about 4

For the dressing, puree in a food processor or blender:

1 mango (or 1 cup of defrosted, frozen mango chunks from Trader Joe’s)
1/4 to 1/2 cup of fresh lime juice
1/4 cup olive oil
1/2 teaspoon cumin
A dash of cayenne or hot sauce or a jalapeno pepper
Salt to taste

In a large bowl mix together:
1 or 2 cans of black beans, drained and rinsed. If I’m adding shrimp (1 pound) or salmon to the salad, I use 1 can of beans. If you’re skipping the seafood, use 2 cans.
2 avocados, chopped
2  handfuls of cherry tomatoes, cut in half
Chopped cilantro

Add salt to taste. I let everyone add their own dressing to their own bowl.

1 Comment

Filed under Salads and Sides

One response to “Good Things

  1. Printing this one too, thanks again.

Leave a Reply

