And So it Begins. Again.

Roasted Beet + Greek Yogurt + a dash of Red Wine Vinegar

Roasted Beet + Greek Yogurt

I’ve been waiting for the perfect moment to start writing this new blog of mine. A day when O is sleeping or otherwise occupied, the house isn’t a total disaster, work is under control and I feel well rested and inspired. The shopping has been done, the bills paid, the random piles of paperwork dealt with and I have a meal cooked and beautifully photographed to share with you all.On this perfect day I am showered and my legs are shaved and I have even put lotion on my elbows. There isn’t a pile of clean (but wrinkled) laundry setting on top of the dryer and another pile inside the dryer.  Maybe – and this is getting completely crazy now – the yard is even weeded and I have mailed a birthday card to a family member before their birthday has passed. And to repeat, all this is accomplished and I am not draped over the couch, a shell of woman who’s energy and creativity has been completely  drained out of her body.

Why, two and a half years into this whole motherhood gig am I still learning that a moment like this will never, ever present itself?  I should know by now that the only way to find time for something I really want to accomplish is to shove it to the front of  the line,  no matter what. Sometimes this “thing” is a big work project, sometimes it’s starting this blog that I’ve really been wanting to start, sometimes it’s exercise or a phone call to a friend and sometimes it’s as mundane as re-organizing the tupperware drawer. Which you should do, by the way, as I guarantee your irritation level with the world will immediately drop several degrees. Which reminds me of a happier lesson of motherhood: there is so much pleasure in the little things now!

Every time I open that organized drawer of tupperware and can easily find  a lid for every container it’s the equivalent of what I use to feel like after a $75 massage. Last week, O and I went to Huntington Gardens and instead of rushing around trying to enjoy all 120 acres we sat on a bench under a tree not far from the entrance and pretended it was a boat sailing out to an island. We  “fixed” the boat with little twigs that we pretended were our tools.

Crouching in the sun at Huntington Gardens

Crouching in the sun at Huntington Gardens

So much in life is harder now that I have a child, but happiness is in such close reach all the time and so easy to find in such little moments throughout the day that it all evens out. Usually.

So today I finally made time to start this new blog, a continuation of my old blog but with a new look and a new focus. I needed a change, although I wasn’t sure what. And then suddenly I did:  Vegetables. I needed more of them.

We are not vegetarian, not by a long shot, but I want to get more vegetables on my table and in my kid’s lunchbox. Who doesn’t?

I thought I’d start with something simple and pretty. I also thought I’d woo O in with this Beet + Yogurt dip because it’s her favorite color: pink. She was suspicious and didn’t fall for it. But if you invite friends over for a summer dinner, they probably will. The color is really gorgeous. The flavor is mostly of roasted beets, but eating them in this totally new form shocks the taste buds in a good way. It’s the type of dip that everyone’s eyes will immediately be drawn to. I recommend serving it with raw veggies and spicy olives and tasty bread and few other dips – like tapenade, hummus, tzatziki and an oregano and feta spread like this:

Oregano & Feta Spread

This sort of combination of appetizers should always be eaten outdoors with chilled rose or ice-cold beer. No matter what type of day they’ve had, everyone at your table will feel happy and lucky. I promise.

So, cheers! Or, like O says every time we clink glasses, “Happy Birthday!”

Bon Appetit’s Beet Yogurt with Herbs

Ingredients

3 medium red beets (about 1 pound), trimmed on both ends
1 1/2 cups plain 2% fat Greek yogurt
2 tablespoons finely chopped fresh mint plus torn leaves for serving
1 teaspoon finely chopped fresh tarragon (I didn’t use this, don’t really care for tarragon)
2 teaspoons red wine vinegar
salt to taste

Instructions

Preheat oven to 450°. Place beets in a small baking dish with a lid and add hot water to come 1/2-inch up sides of the beets. Put a lid on the dish and cook beets until tender, about 1 hour. Remove beets from baking dish, let cool slightly, then rub off skins.

Grate the beets on a cheese grater

Mix beets, yogurt, chopped mint, tarragon and vinegar in a medium bowl; season with salt and more vinegar, if desired. Cover and chill at least 3 hours to let flavors meld.

Top beet yogurt with mint leaves.

2 Comments

Filed under Appetizers

2 responses to “And So it Begins. Again.

  1. Congrats on the new veggie blog. Looks good. ;-]

Leave a Reply

